- Lionel Messi has been slammed with a two-match suspension after he was given a straight red card in the Super Copa finals.

With seconds left to play in the match, Messi seemed to have struck Villalibre in the face when trying to make a run to defend.

Barcelona was losing by 3-2 during the extra time and Messi who couldn't watch them lose tried to do anything to help secure the cup for his team.

Athletic Bilbao won the game and lifted their first trophy in 2015.

Lionel Messi

Messi was seen striking an opponent with his an excessive force while the ball was in play but not within a playable distance.

Messi, who has never been sent off since his time of play in FC Barcelona was given straight red and a two-day suspension too.

Messi was involved in an off-the-ball incident Asier Villalibre and after the referee checked the VAR, Barca legend and captain was dealt with. This is the third time Messi has been sent off and the first time for Barcelona since he started his career.

Barcelona set to appeal against Lionel Messi's suspension

Published on 20th, Jan 2021


Share this if you found it interesting